1st Time Advantage loans are designed to offer eligible first-time homebuyers the lowest 30-year fixed interest rate available for Maryland Mortgage Program loans. The Maryland HomeCredit Program (mortgage credit certificates) may not be layered with this line of products.
The 1st Time Advantage line includes:
1st Time Advantage Direct
No down payment assistance (DPA) available, but usually offers our most competitive interest rates. External sources of DPA may be used.
1st Time Advantage 6000
Comes with a $6,000 loan for down payment and closing costs. This second lien has a zero percent interest rate, and no payments are due for the life of the first mortgage. As soon as the first mortgage ends (repayment, refinance, transfer, sale, etc.), the second lien is due and payable. The 6000 line is eligible for
Partner Match funds, if applicable.
1st Time Advantage 3% Loan
Comes with a DPA loan equal to 3% of the first mortgage in a zero percent deferred second lien.
1st Time Advantage 4% Loan
Comes with a DPA loan equal to 4% of the first mortgage in a zero percent deferred second lien.
1st Time Advantage 5% Loan
Comes with a DPA loan equal to 5% of the first mortgage in a zero percent deferred second lien.
For borrowers with income at or below 50% AMI. Comes with a 0% interest, 30 year deferred DPA loan equal to 6% of the MMP total loan amount (first lien). See
Talk to an approved
MMP lender to determine which loan is best for you!
First-time Homebuyer Requirement and Standard
MMP eligibility applies.
This product is only available for first-time homebuyers, unless:
- Borrower is purchasing in a targeted area and sold their current home prior to closing on the new property; (for more information on
targeted areas ); or
- It has been more than three years since borrower has owned a principal residence; or
- Borrower is an honorably discharged veteran who has not previously used the first-time homebuyer exemption. This is in accordance with the Heroes Earnings Assistance and Relief Tax Act of 2008, as amended. A DD-214 form must be submitted to document veteran status, and a Veteran First Time Homebuyer Exemption form must be completed.