Targeted Areas

​​​​​​About Targeted Areas

Maryland’s Targeted Areas are established by the U.S. Census Bureau, and are geographic zones inside of which there are fewer restrictions for homebuyers using the Maryland Mortgage Program.

Maryland's Counties fall into three categories when it comes to Targeted Areas. Some Counties are fully Targeted Areas. Some Counties have no Targeted Areas in them at all. Other Counties have some areas that are Targeted Areas, and others that are not.

The table below can help you quickly identify whether the area you're looking at could be in a Targeted Area. 


Full Counties

All properties in these Counties are in Targeted Areas.​

Partial Cou​​nties

Some properties in these Counties are in Targeted Areas​

Non-Targeted Counties

No properties in these Counties are in Targeted Areas

Allegany County

Baltimore City

Caroline County

Dorchester County

Garrett County

Kent County

Somerset County

Anne Arundel County

Baltimore County

Frederick County

Harford County

Montgomery County

Prince George's County

Washington County

Wicomico County

Calv​​ert County

Carroll County

Cecil County

Charles County

Howard County

Queen Anne's County

St. Mary's County

Talbot County

Worcester County

For Partial Counties, you can determine whether a property is in a Targeted Area by using the Maryland Mortgage Program Mapper.