The Maryland Mortgage Program allows lenders to charge normal and customary underwriting and processing fees for the first mortgage, per Directive 2016-15. This is not a percentage and does not vary according to the loan amount. We recommend that each lender identify their normal and customary fees and send that (fully broken out) to Karl Metzgar, our Operations Manager (firstname.lastname@example.org). If he confirms that those are fine, he'll keep them on record and the lender would charge the same every time consistently.
The only fee that can be charged for DPA seconds is the recording fee.
For the Maryland HomeCredit (MCC), CDA normally charges a $450 fee for an MCC done with an MMP loan, and the lender can charge up to $350 for their processing fee on that, for a total of $800 to the borrower. For Maryland HomeCredits done without an MMP loan, the fees are higher.
With regard to other lender compensation, see Directive 2017-03.