FACT SHEET: MMP 1st TIME ADVANTAGE 6000



PURPOSE	To offer Maryland first time homebuyers a low Maryland Mortgage Program (MMP) interest rate product and a \$6,000 Down Payment and Closing Cost Assistance loan with a 0% interest rate, deferred, repayable when the first mortgage ends (sale, refinance, etc.). This specific product will require a <u>full loan documentation pre-closing compliance package (#1)</u> .
START DATE	July 5, 2022
DOWNPAYMENT & CLOSING COST ASSISTANCE	The 1 st Time Advantage 6000 includes a 0% interest, 30 year deferred loan of \$6,000 as the second lien. The assistance loan is to be used for the down payment and/or closing costs of the mortgage loan and home purchase at closing. If the \$6,000 exceeds the total down payment and closing costs needed for the transaction, the excess funds will be applied by the lender to a principal curtailment. The loan available for this product is strictly \$6,000 and no higher or lower amounts are allowed. Funding: As with all MMP DPA, the lender will advance the assistance loan funds at closing and the Community Development Administration (CDA) will reimburse the lender after the loan is purchased by US Bank (see Directive 2018-16). (Reminder: Except for SmartBuy 1.0, CDA assistance programs cannot be used with conventional financing for purchase of a DHCD-owned REO.)
PARTNER MATCH PROGRAM	Available, if applicable. Please refer to the Partner Match Program on the MMP website for details. https://mmp.maryland.gov/pages/downpayment.aspx
MARYLAND HOMECREDIT	New MCCs not available; only re-issue of existing MCCs can be done.
INTEREST RATE	The interest rates for conventional and government (FHA, VA, USDA) loans for this product will be provided on the Interest Rate Notification published on the MMP website.
ELIGIBLE BORROWERS*	The product is open to eligible MMP homebuyers. Eligible borrowers must qualify for an MMP loan, i.e., income limitations, credit score and purchase price limits, and other requirements not listed here. In order to ensure consistency for all MMP loans, the MMP 1st Time Advantage 6000 requires homebuyers to take a Homebuyer Education class before they close the MMP loan. This education class must be approved and provided by HUD, Private Mortgage Insurers, Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac. Some funding sources have more stringent requirements which must be met if their funds are used. mmp.maryland.gov/Pages/Homebuyer-Education-Classes.aspx Please refer to underwriting guidelines for US Bank & the GSEs in addition to any MMP Program guidelines.
FIRST-TIME HOMEBUYER REQUIREMENT	 This product is only available for first time homebuyers unless: Borrower is purchasing in a targeted area and sold their current home prior to closing on the new property; (for more information on targeted areas: <u>http://mmp.maryland.gov/Pages/Targeted-Areas.aspx</u>); or It has been more than three years since borrower has owned a principal residence; or Borrower is an honorably discharged veteran who has not previously used the first-time homebuyer exemption. This is in accordance with the Heroes Earnings Assistance and Relief Tax Act of 2008, as amended. A DD-214 form must be submitted to document veteran status, and a Veteran First Time Homebuyer Exemption form must be completed.

All other rules relating to Maryland Mortgage Program loans (see Maryland Mortgage 30-Year fact sheet) apply except where specifically noted in this document.

Disclaimer: The terms and conditions are subject to change until a borrower qualifies for the loan and locks in the interest rate. A borrower should contact their lender for further information concerning a loan and applying for a loan (see www.mmp.maryland.gov). In connection with the Maryland Mortgage Program (MMP), the Maryland Department of Housing & Community Development makes no promises, representations or warranties to any party, including any borrower about the actual benefit an MMP loan might provide to a specific homeowner. Each homeowner's situation is different, and homeowners should seek the advice of a financial advisor, attorney or housing counselor before entering into any loan transaction.



For more information, please visit:

mmp.Maryland.gov

Single Family Housing - Community Development Administration Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development 7800 Harkins Road • Lanham, MD • 20706 SingleFamilyHousing.dhcd@maryland.gov Toll Free (Maryland Only): 800-756-0119

