
PURPOSE To help disabled military veteran homebuyers to purchase a home by offering  
a lower-than-market interest rate.

DURATION Starting 3/26/2014, the program will continue until 5/30/2014.  

 DOWNPAYMENT AND CLOSING COST 
ASSISTANCE

$5,000 in Down Payment Assistance (DPA) from the Maryland Mortgage Program (MMP) in 
the form of a zero percent deferred loan. This can be combined with funds from applicable 
MMP Partner Match programs and available assistance from local jurisdictions.

LOCATION Anywhere in the State of Maryland.  

 INTEREST RATES The interest rate is 3% for conventional and government insured loans. Rates are updated daily 
on the MMP website at http://mmp.maryland.gov/Lenders/Pages/Interest-Rates.aspx. 

ELIGIBLE MD HOMEFRONT  
DISABLED VETERAN BORROWERS

•   The program is open to honorably discharged disabled veterans. Veteran status will be 
confirmed by submission of a Certificate of Release or Discharge From Active Duty form 
(DD-214). Qualification for a VA loan is not required. 
 
Disabled Veteran Status will be confirmed by the Benefits Summary Letter provided to the 
Lender by registering at: https://www.ebenefits.va.gov/ebenefits-portal/ebenefits.portal. 
Within 24-hours of registration, the Borrower will receive a letter stating that they have a 
service connected disability. For purposes of this Program, a disabled veteran is defined as 
one with a 30% or greater disability.  
 
If the homebuyer does not have internet access, the above Disabled Military Veteran letter 
can be obtained in person from the Department of Veterans Affairs. 

•   Must qualify for a Maryland Mortgage Program (MMP) loan, i.e. credit score, income 
limitations, etc. All borrowers must take approved homebuyer education and utilize an 
approved lender. For more information on general MMP requirements, go online to  
http://mmp.maryland.gov/Lenders/Pages/Fact-Sheets.aspx or browse the MMP website  
at www.mmp.maryland.gov.

FIRST TIME HOMEBUYER  
REQUIREMENT

While MMP loans generally are limited to first-time homebuyers, the requirement is waived if: 

•   Borrower is purchasing in a targeted area  
(see http://mmp.maryland.gov/Pages/Targeted-Areas.aspx for more information on 
targeted areas); 

•   It has been more than three years since borrower has owned a principal residence; or

•   Borrower is an honorably discharged veteran who has not previously used the first-time 
homebuyer exemption.  This is in accordance with the Heroes Earnings Assistance and 
Relief Tax Act of 2008, as amended.  A DD-214 form must be submitted to document 
veteran status, and a Veteran First Time Homebuyer Exemption form (Attachment V)  
must be completed.
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